6A PowerPoint Presentation

Storyboard Sketch

rsz_storyboardsketch

Speaker’s Outline:
This article was written by Hank R. Smith on February, 2016 and published in the Ensign Magazine. Below are the highlights of the article.
“What can the Book of Mormon Teach us about Happiness?”
• Some wonder, “Will I ever be happy?”
• Answers are found in the Book of Mormon
• Clear principles and guidelines in 2 Nephi 5 and 4 Nephi 1.
• Seven patterns of happiness are listed below:

1. Maintaining uplifting Associations
A significant source of happiness is our social circle of friends, family, and neighbors.
2. Aligning Actions with Beliefs
Obedience to the commandments is an important part of a happy life.
“Happiness is when what you think, what you say, and what you do are in harmony”
3. Accomplishing Hard Work
Work is critical factor in obtaining happiness in our homes, community, and employment.
4. Focusing on the Temple
Temple blessings and happiness are inseparable.
Have a current temple recommend and a picture of the temple in our home.
5. Sharing what we have
Studies show time spent serving and money spent on others have a direct impact on our happiness.
6. Belonging to a Family
“Happiness in marriage and parenthood can exceed a thousand times any other happiness.”
We must try to offer each member of the family our friendship, understanding, and love.
7. Being a Peacemaker
Contention and happiness are polar opposites—one leads away from the other.
“Cultivate the art of the soft answer, it will bless your homes, it will bless your lives”
Summary:
Search the Book of Mormon for more guidelines to a happier life.
“The moment you begin a serious study of the Book of Mormon… you will find life in greater and greater abundance.”
The Lord has given us this incredible tool.

Process:
First, I prayed about which talk to use. Second, I found an article in the Ensign Magazine. Third, I drew a sketch that went with the article. Next, I made a speaker’s outline from the talk. Then, I looked on Google, and Upsplash for images. After that, I went into PowerPoint to create my slides. I was able to meet with the teacher to get help submitting my slides onto Facebook to be critiqued. I went to slideshare.net to upload my presentation on Facebook for additional critiques. I created a pdf to submit in I-learn for the teacher to critique. I was unable to meet with the tutor in his weekly meeting because he had computer problems. Finally, I made additional changes to my slides before posting it on my blog. I also resized all the pictures to 1024, I took a picture of my sketch, and a screenshot of my blog.

The hardest thing for me this time was to find pictures that were large enough, had the same color scheme, and conveyed the right message. I wish I could have included some of the quotes from the talk, but we had to stick to only a few words per slide. The best part of the project was creating the slides.

Message:
The message is to help people understand how the Book of Mormon has many principles and guidelines which can help any family member find happiness in life.

Audience:
For anyone who is old enough to read, including members of the church, non-members, and children.

Critiques:
My teacher gave me some private suggestions the night before the adobe connect critique. She suggested that I make the font all the same size, or use a different color to give it contrast. She also suggested possibly using a gold color from the Book of Mormon picture. I tried the gold, but the students on Facebook said they could not see the gold very well. Another suggestion was to tone down the red, but I decided to make the repeating element green instead like in the article. I used the eyedropper tool in PowerPoint to make the text match each slide in a different color. After watching the I-learn critique from Sister Larson, I changed the text color for the main word to one color as suggested. I also made the repeating element blue instead of green because Sister Larson did not think the green tone was very good. I did not get a critique from the tutor weekly meeting because he had computer problems. Below are the Facebook critiques:

Dee Selph Wightman I like your arrow text boxes. The hue of the red is a bit overpowering and makes it difficult to read some of the words in the text box. Maybe use a red from the kid’s sweaters? Also make all the text black so it’s easier to read right away. Nice job!
Like · Reply · Yesterday at 6:47am

Dee Selph Wightman Maybe a red from another one of your images. Keep the blue but don’t use the gold. Great job on everything else!
Unlike · Reply · 1 · Yesterday at 7:07am

Lisa Hauck Wilkinson I love it! The red is a nice touch, but maybe make it translucent? The different font colors is nice, but a little difficult to read.

Fonts: Title Font: Sans Serif/ Ariel Black, and Ariel

Color Scheme : Triadic/Blue, red, yellow

Repeating Design Element: An arrow callout shape

Sources:
https://www.lds.org/ensign/2016/02/young-adults/what-can-the-book-of-mormon-teach-us-about-happiness?lang=eng

Picture Links:

Book of Mormon
https://beggarsbreaddotcom.files.wordpress.com/2099/07/book_of_mormon-1280x960_edited.jpg
Group of people
https://media.timeout.com/images/100563265/image.jpg

Scripture and Prayer
https://radicalmentoring.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/07/tensions-trust-prayer.jpg

Hábitat House
http://www.johnhagerman.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/06/Habitat-house.jpg

Temple
http://www.ldschurchtemples.com/sandiego/gallery/images/san-diego-mormon-temple17.jpg

Child
http://houseofprayerexperience.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/iStock_000012598262_Large.jpg

Family
http://www.growingyourbaby.com/wp-content/uploads/family-of-4-at-the-park.jpg

Woman and children
https://www.understood.org/~/media/6f532bd43c6b4c4ea29717d40fa20172.jpg

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “6A PowerPoint Presentation

  1. Cheryl, this turned out AMAZING! I remember seeing your drafts and revisions on facebook and to see your final project, it is really well done. The images fit the storyline of the article, and there was a lot of variety with your sidebars and new color choice for text and background. I most like your design cohesion and your explanation is written very professionally. Inspiring!
    https://conniechatelain.wordpress.com/

    Like

Leave a comment